“Excellent Service, Great Food”

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 2016

Extensive choice at fixed price £17.99 3 courses (can’t remember how much for 2 courses). Some dishes have a £2/£3 supliment. Or you can upgrade main to a steak for extra £8-11. We had 3 x 3 course 1x 2 course with £11 upgrade 4 side dishes 2 bottles wine 2 spirit and mixer and a coffee for £131 excellent value.

The starters and mains were all excellent. The desserts (lemon tart and coffee mouse thing not very inspiring. We will definitely go back though. The young lady who served us was freindy knowledgeable and efficient. Apparently the menu is changed about every 6 weeks which is great.

 

“The Best as Always”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2016

Visited with a friend on the evening. The staff were very good and attentive to our requirements. Menu was a excellent variety including haggis! … my friend who is Scottish loved this very much. Great place, great staff.

 

“Great Service”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2016

First class service and the food was spot on. Booked for a family celebration great value for money. I had a 16oz t bone which was sublime. Would recommend this restaurant can’t wait to go back.

 

“Lovely Birthday Lunch”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2016

Came in for my Sisters birthday lunch and was a wonderful experience from start to finish.The waiting staff were very pleasant and attentive.The wine was lovely and the food-wow! From the bread and olives to the pate starter chicken main & ganache sweet-portions were just right,tasty and well presented.Big thanks to Mat the chef will definitely be coming again.

 

“Hidden Gem”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2016

What a surprise,a hidden gem of a restaurant. A warm welcome by the staff ,bread and olives nice touch . Well presented food, three courses plenty of choice £12.00 . Will definitely be back.

 

“Fantastic food and service”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 October 2013

I have been too many different restaurants in Lichfield but I was very surprised at the quality of the food and service. As soon as we walked in we where greeted with smiles and a warm atmosphere. we where sat down on a very nice table at the back. It was a lovely touch to be given complementary olives and bread at the beginning and chocolate brownies at the end witch no other restraints that I have been to offer. the food was lovely and great value for money. I would defiantly recommend to my friends and family.

 

“Can it get any better than this?”

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked for a lunch and were greeted with friendly smiles and shown to our table. Within minutes complimentary olives and french bread and butter arrived at our table together with a carafe of water. Our starters arrived in good time and were generous portions and very tasty. The mains also arrived in good time and were hot and delicious, my wife had the pan fried lambs liver and I had the lemon and thyme chicken both of which we would thoroughly recommend
The desserts were also of a similar standard and we were also given a complementary brownie at the end of the meal.
One of the best lunches we have had in Lichfield and value for money is hard to beat. Don’t be mislead by the ordinary appearance of this Bistro the food and service could not be bettered

 

“Fabulous Food, Amazing Service”

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We eat frequently at the olive tree, and I thought it was about time I reviewed it!!

We absolutely love it here. The food is always excellent- we’ve never had a bad meal. We got married last year, and had the olive tree for our post ceremony meal. The staff were superb! Matt let us choose our menu, and did it at a great price. The choice meant everyone was happy, and they decorated the tables beautifully for us.

On a normal day, the fixed price menu is always superb, as is the reasonably priced wine list.

Best restaurant in Lichfield by a mile!!!

Visited July 2011

 

“Absolutely Great”

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We used to dine at Thrales , now closed .
So we booked at the Olive Tree, did we make the right choice , yes we did .
We dined with friends on a busy Saturday and were very pleased with the service and quality of the food served . Risotto deserves particular praise .Bottled water and fresh bread arrived whilst we perused the wide choice on the menu . we all had different and were very satisfied .Service was good and unobtrusive and the bill was reasonable .
We will definateley dine again and have booked for a christmas meal with ourf friends .

Visited October 2011

 

“The risotto was superb!!!”

Reviewed 27 October 2011

we visited on a busy saturday night, thankfully we had booked! we were seated and given complimentry water and french bread.we ordered some wine and our meals.the starters didnt take long to arrive,I had ordered the smoked salmon and asparagus risotto, it was the best ive ever had, James wished he had had the same as i let him try abit. his starter of poached salmon with dill was lovley too tho i had clearly had the best starter 🙂 our mains were also lovley, i had the plaice and james had the beef casserole with pasry top, homemade chips and perfectly cooked veg.we finished off with creme brulee and james had a lemon tart. All of this came to £43.00!!!! tremendous value, excellant service and fabulous food, we will be returning asap

Visited October 2011

 

“Eating out often means you are faced with a dizzying array of choice. Do you opt for Italian, Indian French or British?

But one restaurant in the Cathedral City of Lichfield is creating its own unique taste and reputation offering something genuinely new to diners across the region.

The Olive Tree on Tamworth Street, has been open for six years and head chef, Alex Brown, has transformed the menu in the three years since he joined the team.

Officially billed as a Mediterranean restaurant, the Olive Tree is much more than that, offering dishes encompassing traditional British food, such as pork and beef, but with added tastes and flavours.

A selection from the menu includes wild mushroom with parma ham rissoto, homemade soup, seared tuna with sweet potato mash, fillet of pork with a potato rosti and spinach and beef medallions with horseradish mash and wild mushroom sauce.

Alex, aged 24, says his aim is to offer food that customers can recognise but with a mix of tastes from the Mediterranean and beyond. The restaurant doesn’t shout about its presence on the high street and its almost shy facade hides a very exciting culinary experience.

On entering you almost immediately become aware of how contemporary the venue is. The room is decorated in white and deep red with lovely wooden tables stretching back toward an open kitchen area where customers can watch Alex and his staff prepare their unique dishes.

My partner and I were welcomed by a cheerful waitress and as we sat down we were immediately impressed with the generous size of the tables.

All too often a table for two means you are sat in a corner, against a radiator and with only a tiny area to balance your dishes on, but not at the Olive Tree.

My partner, who is a sceptic of any food she labels as “fuddy duddy”, became increasingly anxious but soon relaxed as she looked at the menu.

The restaurant offers food with enough of a British feel to make you interested but also a little something extra to make the night exciting. While my better half decided on the homemade carrot and rosemary soup I went for the sauteed mushrooms with garlic and herbs served on crostini bread.

The food was brilliantly presented in such a way that made you regret sticking your fork into it. With the first bite the mix Alex speaks about was instantly recognisable in a way that quite literally sent your taste buds into a frenzy.

For the main course I chose slow roasted duck confit with mash potato and spinach while my partner devoured the pork steak with thyme, apple rosti and buttered cabbage.

Again the meals were delicately put together and arrived at the perfect time giving just enough of a delay to appreciate the starters and enjoy the atmosphere. Taste sensation is an overused cliche but one that no doubt applies to the Olive Tree.

To round off the night we indulged our darker side with chocolate torte and chocolate fudge.

The fudge cake was drenched in thick warm chocolate sauce and both were served with two slices of strawberry. To say they were a delight to eat is an understatement.

The Olive Tree is a fantastic night out for anyone who enjoys good food and likes to try something just that little bit different. The restaurant has an excellent atmosphere with helpful staff and high class cuisine.

Customers can choose from either the a la carte menu or the express menu offering a full range of choice.

A clue to what kind of service you can expect at the Olive Tree is written on the menu where it says: “If you need a taxi, ask a member of staff when you are on desserts and we will do our best to get one booked for you.” What a great idea.

So the next time you can’t decide what kind of food you want you know what to do, try the Olive Tree.

Prices are very reasonable for the type of meals you can enjoy. The sauteed mushrooms with garlic and herbs was £3.95, homemade soup was £3.25. The confit of duck on mashed potato was priced at £12.95, with the pork steak with thyme and apple rosti costing £10.95. All side orders cost £2.25.

The Olive Tree also offers deals on three course evening meals costing £10.95. (See Menus)”

By Shaun Lintern

July 21, 2007 – Express&Star.com